Swim / Uncategorized

5 Reasons to Add More Pool Workouts into Your Routine

images-4

When I was a kid swimming was definetly one of my favourite things about summer. But after spending a few too many chlorine logged days as a lifeguard, I kind of forgot how great swimming really is.

Now that I’m about a month away from my triathlon, I’ve ampted up the swimming workouts. And let me tell ya… I’ve been lovin’ it.

Here’s some more reasons to drag your butt to the pool:

1.You’ll forget you’re exercising – Swimming, like any activity that is highly enjoyable, makes you forget that your working out. Although some swim workouts may be tough, getting a swim in (in my opinion) is much more amusing then alot of other boring forms of cardio.

2. You’ll pay attention to your breathing – “One, Two, Three, Breathe.” Swimming forces you to keep you breathe in line with your rhythm. If your going hard, you won’t be able to hold your breathe between strokes. By paying attention to our breathe, we are paying attention to our pace, and vice versa.

3. You’ll relax you’re mind and body  – Here’s the deal: it’s pretty hard not to focus on your breathe while you are swimming. If you don’t, you’ll stop swimming to come up for air. By forcing yourself to focus on your breathe, we can push aside all off the days worries. Sounds a lot like meditation, except for that you are also getting relaxation benefits for your body as well. This is because the water pressure around your body causes a gentle squeeze in all off your muscles, increasing blood flow.

4. You’ll build long, lean muscles – Swimming is a great cardio workout, but it also strengthens your legs and upper body. Swimmers are famous for having a wonderful physique, that is lean and toned.

5. You won’t even have to break a sweat – I usually don’t even realize how intense my workout was until i step out of the pool. I think I can attribute that mostly to the fact that I don’t feel like I’m working as hard, because I’m not hot and sweaty. Of course my body is still sweating, so it’s important to remember to stay hydrated.

That’s all for now…

Tell me what you love about swimming.

Leave a Reply

